SAHITYA AKADEMI

RABINDRA BHAVAN 35, FEROZESHAH ROAD NEW DELHI-110 001

Tel: 23386626 / 23387064, Fax: 23382428, e-mail: secretary@sahitya-akademi.gov.in

Dr. K. Sreenivasarao *Secretary*

SA.16/14/BS/PN 24 June 2015

PRESS NOTE

Sahitya Akademi Bhasha Samman

Sahitya Akademi has announced Bhasha Samman

to **Dr. K. Meenakshi Sundaram**, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to Classical and Medieval Literature (Southern) for the year 2013,

to **Acharya Munishwar Jha**, in recognition of his significant contributions to Classical and Medieval Literature (Eastern) for the year 2014 and jointly to **Sri Charu Chandra Pande** and **Sri Mathuradutt Mathpal** for their valuable contributions to the enrichment of Kumauni language, a language not recognized by the Akademi.

Bhasha Samman carries a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000/-, an inscribed copper plaque and a citation. In the case of joint-winners, the prize money is equally shared between the winners. The Samman will be presented to them by the President of the Sahitya Akademi at a special function to be held later.

The brief bio-datas of the Bhasha Samman Awardees and the names of members of the Jury on whose recommendations the Bhasha Samman's were declared are given below:

Dr. K. Meenakshisundaram, born in 1925, is a Founder Director of International Institute of Tamil Studies and his contribution to ancient and medieval literature is phenomenal. He is an authority of Cilappatikaram, an ancient Tamil epic. His masterly works in Cilappatikaram minor characters on Cilappatikaram and the role of the characters in Cilappatikaram have won laurels for him. To his credit goes an earlier work on the society of the Cankam age. He has written scholarly essays on Tirukkural. He has made rich contribution to medieval literature and his work on Kambar stands as an example. An author of 16 works on literature, his contribution extends up to modern literature also (Manonmaniyam –Puratchi-Thiran).

Acharya Munishwar Jha, born in 1928, is an eminent scholar, teacher and educationist. He is the ex-Vice-Chancellor of K.S.D. Sanskrit University, Bihar (1989-1992). He has made valuable contribution in the area of Sanskrit Literature for which he was honoured with the Presidential Award in 2006. He has over more than a dozen books in Hindi, English, Maithili and Sanskrit. Among which *Vidyapati Vanmaya* (Maithili), *Tapasa Kavi Vidyapati* (Maithili), *Bhu-Parikramanam* (Sanskrit) among others. He also worked on a project on *Maithili Bhashaki, Evolution and Reconstruction of the Maithili Language*.

Sri Charu Chandra Pande, born in 1923 at Kasoon, Almora (Uttarakhand). He has worked extensively on Kumauni language and has published *Sej Gumani*, *Eco Farms Hills* (in English), *Chhodo Gulami Khitab* and *Angwal*. He has received awards like Umesh Dhobhal Smiriti Samman and Uttar Pradesh Hindi Sansthan Award.

Sri Mathuradutt Mathpal, born in 1942, at Bhikiyasain, Almora (Uttarakhand) is a poet, teacher and Kumauni scholar. He has published *Aang-Aang Chichail Haigo* (poetry), *Mook Geet* (a book based on famous Kumauni poet Pandit Kripal Dutt Joshi) among with the translation of many poems in Hindi. He has been awarded with the Sumitranandan Pant Award by the Uttar Pradesh Government (1989), Sherda 'Anpad' Smriti Samman etc.

LANGUAGE

JURY MEMBERS

Classical & Medieval Literature (South) Professor Veturi Ananda Murthy

Dr. Hampa. Nagarajaiah Dr. Sirpi Balasubramaniam

Classical & Medieval Literature (East) Professor Nagen Saikia

Professor Basanta Kumar Panda Professor Udaya Kumar Chakraborty

Kumauni Dr. Ramesh Chandra Shah

Dr. Laxman Singh Bisht 'Batrohi'

Dr. Hari Suman Bisht

For favour of Publication/Broadcast/Telecast.

s/d (K. Sreenivasarao)

Encl: as above