SAHITYA AKADEMI RABINDRA BHAVAN 35 FEROZESHAH ROAD NEW DELHI-110 001 TEL: 2338 66 26/2338 7064, Fax: 23382428, E-mail: secy@ndb.vsnl.net.in

Dr. K. Sreenivasarao Secretary

SA.61/TP-15/PN/

15 February 2016

For favour of Publication/Broadcast/Telecast.

PRESS NOTE

SAHITYA AKADEMI PRIZE FOR TRANSLATION 2015

The Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi which met at Rabindra Bhavan, New Delhi, today, under the Chairmanship of its President, Professor Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari approved selection of 23 books (as given at Annexure 'A' attached) for the Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize 2015. The award in Marathi will be declared later. The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by the Selection Committees of three members each in the concerned languages in accordance with the rules and procedure laid down for the purpose. The prize relates, to translations first published during the five years prior to the year immediately preceding the year of Prize for Translation (i.e. between 1 January 2009 and 31 December 2013).

The names of the members of the Selection Committees on whose recommendations the Translation Prizes were declared are given language wise at Annexure `B' attached.

The Prize carries an amount of Rs.50,000/- and a copper plaque which will be presented to the translators of each of these books at a special function to be held sometime later this year.

(K. Sreenivasarao)

Encl: *as above*

Annexure "A"

SAHITYA AKADEMI PRIZE FOR TRANSLATION 2015

LANGUAGE	TITLE OF THE TRANSLATION	TRANSLATOR	NAME OF THE ORIGNAL BOOK, GENRE, LANGUAGE & AUTHOR
ASSAMESE	GANADEVATA	SUREN TALUKDAR	GANADEVATA (NOVEL), BENGALI, TARASHANKAR BANDYOPADHYAY
BENGALI	ANAMDASER PUTHI	MAU DAS GUPTA	ANAMDAS KA POTHA (NOVEL), HINDI, HAZARI PRASAD DWIVEDI
BODO	JAHARNI MWNTHAI	DHANSRI SWARGIARY	ARANYER ADHIKAR (NOVEL), BENGALI, MAHASWETA DEVI
DOGRI	KINNE PAKISTAN	CHHATARPAL	KITNE PAKISTAN (NOVEL), HINDI, KAMALESHWAR
ENGLISH	BHARATHIPURA	SUSHEELA PUNITHA	BHARATHIPURA (NOVEL), KANNADA, U. R. ANANTHAMURTHY
GUJARATI	JENE LAHOR NATHI JOYUN E JANMYO J NATHI	SHARIFA VIJLIWALA	JIS LAHORE NAHI DEKHYA O JAMYA E NAI (PLAY), HINDI, ASGAR WAJAHAT
HINDI	BAROMAS	DAMODAR KHADSE	BAROMAS (NOVEL), MARATHI, SADANAND DESHMUKH
KANNADA	KOCHERETI	N. DAMODARA SHETTY	KOCHERETI (NOVEL), MALAYALAM, NARAYAN
KASHMIRI	LAL DED	RATTAN LAL SHANT	LAL DED (NOVEL), DOGRI, VED RAHI
KONKANI	RAG DARBARI	JAYMALA DANAYAT	RAAG DARBAARI (NOVEL), HINDI, SRILAL SHUKLA
MAITHILI	BADALI JAICHH GHARETA	DEVENDRA JHA	BARI BADLE JAI (NOVEL), BENGALI, RAMAPADA CHOUDHURI
MALAYALAM	GORA	K. C. AJAYAKUMAR	GORA (NOVEL), BENGALI, RABINDRANATH TAGORE
MANIPURI	LISHING AMA SUPNA MARIPHUMARIGI MAMA	NAOREM KHAGENDRA	HAJAR CHOURASIR MA (NOVEL), BENGALI, MAHASWETA DEVI
NEPALI	BIRATAKI PADMINI	SHANKAR PRADHAN	VIRATA KI PADMINI (NOVEL), HINDI, VRINDAVANLAL VERMA
ODIA	KABERI BHALI JHIATIA	SHAKUNTALA BALIARSINGH	ORU KABERIYAI POLA (NOVEL), TAMIL, TRIPURASUNDARI LAKSHMI
PUNJABI	MANOJ DAS DIAN KAHANIYAN	BALBIR PARWANA	MANOJ DASANKA GALPA (SHORT STORIES), ODIA, MANOJ DAS
RAJASTHANI	MADAN BAVNIYO	MADAN SAINI	MADAN BAVNIYA (NOVEL), HINDI, RAJENDRA KEDIA
SANSKRIT	AHMEV RADHA AHMEV KRISHNA	TARASHANKAR SHARMA 'PANDEYA'	MEIN HI RADHA MAIN HI KRISHNA (POETRY), HINDI, GULAB KOTHARI
SANTALI	BAPLANIJ	TALA TUDU	PORINEETA (NOVEL), BENGALI, SARATCHANDRA CHATTOPADHYAY
SINDHI	LAL DED	SARITA SHARMA	LAL DED (NOVEL), DOGRI, VED RAHI
TAMIL	МЕЕТСНІ	GOWRI KIRUBANANDAN	VIMUKTHA (SHORT STORIES), TELUGU, VOLGA
TELUGU	SUFI CHEPPINA KATHA	L. R. SWAMY	SOOFI PARANJA KADHA (NOVEL), MALAYALAM, K. P. RAMANUNNI
URDU	GITANJALI	SUHAIL AHMAD FAROOQI	GITANJALI (POETRY), BENGALI, RABINDRANATH TAGORE

* Marathi Award will be declared later.

Annexure "B"

LIST OF SELECTION COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR THE SAHITYA AKADEMI PRIZE FOR TRANSLATION 2015

ASSAMESE

Sri Debabrata Das Dr. Lakshminandan Bora Sri Sibananda Kakati

BENGALI Smt. Jaya Mitra Prof. Sanjukta Dasgupta Professor Alok Roy

BODO Dr. Bhupen Narzary Dr. Dinanath Basumatary Dr. Kameswar Brahma

DOGRI

Dr. Om Goswami Prof. Shiv Dev Singh Manhas Prof. Shiv Nirmohi

ENGLISH Dr. Alok Bhalla Dr. C. N. Ramachandran Dr. K. Srilata

GUJARATI Dr. Nitin Vadgama Dr. Ranjana Argade Prof. Sejal Shah

HINDI Ms. Anamika Prof. Jayaprakash Prof. Mohan

KANNADA Sri B. R. Lakshmana Rao Sri Bhalachanda Jayashetti Sri Bolavar Mohammad Kunhi

KASHMIRI Dr. Aziz Haini Sri Moti Lal Komi

Sri Moti Lal Kemmu Prof. Shafi Shauq

KONKANI Sri Damodar Mauzo Dr. Chandra Shekhar Shenoy Sri Prakash Padgaonkar

MAITHILI Dr. Deo Kant Jha Dr. Dhirendra Nath Mishra Sri Tarakant Jha

MALAYALAM Sri K. Jayakumar Dr. M. R. Ragava Warier Professor P. A. Vasudevan MANIPURI

Prof. H. Nani Kumar Singha Prof. Kh. Kunjo Singh Dr. Toijam Tampha Devi

NEPALI Sri Nar Bahadur Rai Dr. Jeewan Rana Ms. Shanti Thapa

ODIA Dr. Kailash Pattnaik Prof. Khageshwar Mohapatra Dr. Sangram Jena

PUNJABI Sri Balbir Madhopuri Dr. Rattan Singh Jaggi Prof. Satnam Singh Jassal

RAJASTHANI Dr. Hemendra Singh Chandaliya Smt. Prakash Amarawat Sri Meethesh Nirmohi

SANSKRIT Dr. Iccharam Dwivedi Professor Keshab Chandra Dash Dr. Viroopaksha V. Jaddipal

SANTALI Sri Chandi Charan Kisku Dr. Dhaneswar Manjhi Sri Laxman Marandi

SINDHI Sri Dholan Rahi Sri Holaram Hans Dr. Vimmi Sadarangani

TAMIL Ms. Ira Meenakshi Sri Puviyarasu Ms. G. Thilakavathi

TELUGU Dr. Dwana Sastry Prof. Manikyamba P. Prof. S. Sesharatnam

URDU Dr. Aziz Parihar Dr. Kausar Siddiqui Dr. Parwaiz Shaharyar